I have to admit it.  I am one of the crazy people who purchases gifts for next year the day after Christmas.  I do like to shop throughout the year and love a good deal.  The problem is I have forgotten where I have hid them or what I bought.  Then I end up spending too much because I bought too much.  I hope I am not the only one.  Please say I am not.

A couple of things I now try and do is:

  • I keep a little notebook in my purse that contains what I have bought and from whom.  You can section it with post-it notes and have spots for needed items for the house, sizes of the kids, grocery lists, etc
  • Have bins, hidden, where you can add the goods.  I keep one for each child, misc gifts in case I need one at the last minute including children’s birthday party gifts, and gifts to close friends and relatives.  This will only work if it’s something you think the person might like a couple of months from now.
  • Of course, keep a budget.  Set it ahead and really work toward it.  The holidays don’t have to keep us in the nicely furnished poor house.  This is still true even if you don’t purchase ahead of time.

I also believe home made gifts are a good way to go to.  They are many GOOD alternatives to a hand knit reindeer sweater. 

  • Decorate a picture frame with a rubber stamp (of something the person likes) and paint.
  • Homemade goodies are always a hit.  Try wrapping in nice tissue and a beautiful basket.  Make it as fancy as you want.  And give them the recipe too.
  • A gift basket can be done for a cook, gardener, pizza maker, baker, movie fan, etc.  I use to have a gift basket business out of my home so I will be giving more detail ideas later so stay tuned.
  • Candy Wreath.  Take a wreath and either tie or hot glue gun (glue – not for chocolates or thin wrappers) the candies that person likes.  Add a nice bow and they have a great treat.
  • There are a lot of homemade beauty products, food, and jewelery ideas on the web or at your library.

You don’t have to be a huge crafter to do this.  Invite a few friends over to make some together and remember how you present it is one of the best ways to let them know they are special.

According to Santa’s clock there is 87 days until Christmas.  It can really be one of the Most Wonderful Times of the Year!

