Today’s question:

Before Christmas I read an article regarding decorating for the holidays.  The article was describing a simple way to decorate your home-wrap all the presents in the same type of wrapping paper.  They advised to use the same type of colors as a cheap way to decorate.  Now is it just me or….????

I don’t know about you but most of the presents I wrap I give to others and ship them off.  Should I tell all those who give us presents what color to wrap them in or do I re-wrap them?  So I am not seeing this as a simple answer.

This just reminds me of all the articles and TV segments that just put an unrealistic view of life.  Between a “Simple” magazine that shows many items at unrealistic prices, for me and those I know, to a picture enhanced model.  There is, of course, nothing wrong with this as long as people have balance in their lives and realize these are-at times, just a capture of one point in time and may not be the full story.  They know models have been touched up and don’t compare themselves.  They know that the pictures in magazines of peoples homes are ones that no one has touched for days to prepare for the pictures.  And articles written from one point of view (like this) may NOT represent you, and you don’t try to live up to someones else view point.

I had this point hit home for me several years ago.  I was apart of a church that had MANY issues.  One time they had an article in a paper featuring a ministry they did.  It had wonderful pictures and a glowing report because no one was featuring the issues that were pervasive in the church!  Why would they? 

Everyone puts their best foot forward.  We don’t want others to see our problems.  Our “unmatched wrapping paper”.  We don’t want to be vulnerable.  We show a picture perfect image.  Of course we need to be careful who we share our problems with but we do need to show them as they are more relate-able than a picture perfect life.  It also allows us freedom to be ourselves.

Look at any person’s closet, garage, drawers, heart, ornament box, toolbox, fridge, medicine cabinet, wallet, makeup box, life, budget, bank account, files, work in-box, car, church, gingerbread house, waistband, kitchen cabinets, workout schedule, last years New Year’s resolution, relationships, to do list, and wrapping paper and you will find, somewhere, that we are all just human after all. 

Blessings from the Imperfect Debbie aka The Real World Martha (S)

