No, I didn’t get beamed up last night (although I may have wanted to).   Have you seen articles on crafts that reuse items?  Sometimes these take a lot of resources, don’t look good, or turn something that was recyclable into trash. 

My oldest and I worked on a project that covered OJ containers for pencil holders.   We ended up not having enough contact paper so I bought some more thinking I would use it up (can anyone say gas and $).  The contact paper didn’t cover up the writing and we still have some paper left over.  It didn’t look that great and not long after ended up in the trash as my son wasn’t as thrilled when it was all done.

I now realize that I need to be careful in trying to reuse items that I don’t spend more time and resources than just to recycle to begin with.  You are doing the craft for the kids but if in the end it’s turned something that can no longer be recycled is it worth it?  I also ask myself if it can be used for a long period of time?  And if the materials are on hand and cheap?

Have you any stories of successful or non-successful reusing of items?  I would love to hear that I am not the only one or that yours turned out better than ours did.

Have a reduce, reuse, and recycling kind of day!

 Debbie

31 And God saw everything that he had made, and behold, it was very good. And there was evening and there was morning, a sixth day. (Gen 1:31)

P.S. – As a side note, I know Christmas is over but people still use bows for other gifts so I thought I would pass this info along.  I got this post from:  http://planettrash.wordpress.com/2007/12/27/tie-a-bow-around-planet-earth/

Here’s an interesting, but sad, fact about holiday trash from The Daily News:

According to the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection, 38,000 miles of ribbon is thrown in the trash each year — enough to tie a bow around the planet.

Please reuse bows. I used to laugh at my mother for doing just that.

