My mother passed away with cancer when I was 17.  She almost died from this disease when I was 9 so I grew up with cancer and it’s affects most of my life.  Cancer runs in my mother’s side of the family so it’s a big part of my medical history.  This was very apparent not too long ago when I had some precancerous treatment on my lip.  Now I am a mom and it’s very scary to think of this is my life.  I really do try to keep in mind when making choices like when to go in the sun, sunscreen, but also chemicals in my home.

I am very interested in some natural treatments that we can do in our everyday life as I think there are a lot of chemicals we could do without (ALL around us).  Now, I am not an extremist, yet :), but  I would just like to use less in my life and home.

Here are just a few simple tips I keep on hand for natural healing.  Of course, there is not a substitute for medial advise and I hold no medical degree! 

  • Ginger (try a couple of pieces of candied ginger or tea), chamomile, or peppermint for an upset tummy.
  • Oatmeal, milk, or (cooled) tea for sunburns.
  • Tea Tree Oil for athlete’s foot, cuts and scrapes, and dandruff.
  • Fluoride Toothpaste for acne (white and a little dab will do ya)
  • Duct Tape for Warts
  • Cinnamon has been reported to help lower cholesterol and blood sugar (and no I do not mean a Cinnamon Roll!!!)
  • Oregano is thought to be a Cancer Fighter

If you are interested in natural cures there are many resources on-line and in book form just really get to know your sources.

Here are a few web-links to help with medical issues:

www.healthfinder.gov   – Research your symptoms or current medical trends.  The kid section has links for nutrition.

www.cancer.org  – American Cancer Society

http://womenshealth.about.com/od/surgeryforgyndiseases/a/medicaltests.htm  –  A run down of tests women need to get.

BOOKS:

Amazing Kitchen Cures, by Joey Green

Clean House, Clean Planet, by Karen Logan (If you are interested in natural cleaning – helps save on money as well.)

Also, I would recommend everyone to have a medical journal for you and your family members.  You can keep immunizations, all doctor info, medical history, etc in it.  Also, log all symptoms with dates so that you are ready when you or a family member goes to the doctor.  It is so hard to remember what happened and when.  Or is that just me?

I was just talking with a friend of mine about how are pediatricians know our children but we don’t know our doctors at all (or don’t have a primary care physician).  But kids go to the doctor at least once a year for a well-check.  And I know I am not the only one who’s children go way more than that!  How often do we go?  Our doctors don’t know us!  If we are healthy we may only go once a year or every few years…right?  They will only know what we provide.  So keep up regular visits with your primary care doctor and keep a journal.  They are good at what they do but last time I checked they aren’t mind readers.

Have a ‘Healthy’ Day!!!

