As we recently painted our house I am reminded, that although I like to do things well, I am hardly a Martha (S).  I am a Real World Martha and here’s why:

(Martha) Pick best paint                                         

(RWM) Pick paint you can afford

(Martha) Wash down all walls of bird poop and dirt.                              

 (RWM) Get the big chunks off and try to paint over the rest.

(Martha) Caulk all areas for a perfect finish.            

(RWM) “Ooops, ran out of caulk.  Will have to add more paint in those places.”

(Martha) Use Primer                                                

(RWM) “What’s Primer?”

(Martha) Have proper tools on hand.                                    

 (RWM)” Has anyone seen the small paintbrush I was using?”

(Martha) Replace all parts that are dented, worn, and have old paint that can’t be removed.    

 (RWM) Is anyone really going to notice?

Well those are just some of the difference I am sure.  I do know that I am happy and it looks pretty decent. 

P.S. – That’s not our house in the pic above.  It’s just a pic that would fit in that space 🙂 

Have a “Real World Martha” Day!

 

 

