As many of you may be aware, one of my New Year’s Resolutions was not to shop at Walmart.  So far so good.  And honestly I have no temptation any more to go there.  Sure it’s a little convenient but it’s too high of a “price”.

Now for those of you who are devote Walmart fans, I use to be one, please stay with me.

Last night on the news, in the midst of all the bad news about our economy, there was the “bright” spot of Walmart sales being up 2.1%.  So my question to those reading is, is this what you want?  Do we want Walmart to get larger while other companies go out of business?  Do we want to bail out WalMart when they start to have financial trouble because we are too dependent upon them? 

If you say where will I buy things, here are a few ideas:

Clothes – Thrift Stores, Resale Shops, Independent Shops

Pet Food– Grocery Store, PetSmart or similar store, Local Feed Store

Groceries– Even when I liked Walmart, I found their grocery prices not any cheaper than my grocery store, try local markets, Corner Grocery Store, Farmers Markets, ETC

Household –  I look for coupons and just shop my grocery store anymore.  It saves me a trip which pays for any additional $$ that I spent.  It’s a wash …hahahaha

Furntiure/Decorative– Again try your local Thrift Store, garage sale, or craigslist.  Or save up for some good quality merchandise that will last longer.  Also, try a model home store.  They purchase the furniture from the model homes and pass the savings onto you.  It’s higher than Walmart but quality is WAY BETTER and will last a lot longer which is better than getting something for a year and tossing it right?

Here are a few other stores to go to – Your local Hardware Store and Office Supply Stores.  And don’t forget about ETSY..handmade stuff is terrific there!

You know, depending on where you live, some of this takes a little more time, but is it worth it?  I believe without a doubt it is!!!!  More local stores creates jobs here, creates communities, fosters creativity and equips those who produce it, less to throw out because you paid for quality, spend/ do with less because you are purchasing something that will last. 

Don’t believe me, I can’t tell you how many times that either myself or someone I know purchase something that was not on our list because it was only $3.98.  And guess what?  Not used, didn’t work, in the closet, no one else wanted it, broke, regret, etc!!  How much have you spent at Walmart doing that?  Go for the long run, shop local!

Please consider where you shop and really do something good for our economy.

Have a “Soapbox” Day 🙂

P.S. – There’s always room for another person on this soapbox.  Join me and just say no to Walmart.

